What is CMMC?

In today’s rapidly evolving cybersecurity threats, the United States Department of Defense (DoD) has taken a definitive step to bolster the security of its information networks, especially those handled by contractors. This initiative, known as the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), marks a significant shift in the DoD’s approach to ensuring the digital security of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

The Need for Enhanced Cybersecurity

Previously, DoD contractors dealing with CUI were required to self-certify their compliance with the NIST SP 800-171 cybersecurity best practices. However, the self-certification approach left networks vulnerable, resulting in successful cyberattacks against DoD contractors. These incidents exposed a critical need for a more robust cybersecurity protocol.

CMMC: A New Era of Cybersecurity Compliance

The CMMC initiative represents a departure from self-certification. Instead, it introduces a requirement for third-party audits and certifications for DoD contractors who manage CUI on their information systems. This move ensures a more stringent and reliable assessment of cybersecurity measures, significantly enhancing the overall security landscape.

Who is Subject to a CMMC Assessment?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) assessments are primarily targeted at companies and organizations that are contractors or subcontractors for the United States Department of Defense (DoD). This includes a wide range of businesses that work directly with the DoD or are part of the defense supply chain at various levels. Essentially, any entity that handles or processes Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) is subject to a CMMC assessment. CUI encompasses a broad category of information that, while not classified, is sensitive and requires protection under federal laws and regulations. CUI data will be released to those with a level 2 certification. Support organizations that store, process or transmit CUI or provide security protections to the contractors CUI environment will be in scope. For instance, a managed service provider or security consulting firm.

It’s important to note that the requirement for CMMC assessment extends beyond primary defense contractors to include smaller subcontractors as well. This means that even smaller businesses, which might be several tiers removed from direct DoD contracts but still contribute to support of the defense supply chain, need to be CMMC certified. The final rule is expected to be out in late 2024 and assessments required in contracts in 2025. The level of CMMC certification required (ranging from Level 1 to Level 3) varies based on the type and sensitivity of the information handled by the contractor.

CMMC Levels

Understanding CMMC Levels and Requirements

The CMMC framework is structured across different levels, reflecting the varying degrees of cybersecurity risk associated with different types of contracts.

  1. Level 1: This level applies to contractors who do not deal with CUI. It typically encompasses entities such as resellers, who might handle only basic purchase orders or human resources information. The security requirements at this level are relatively minimal.
  2. Level 2: At this intermediate level, contractors handle CUI, such as schematics for DoD equipment. This level demands security measures closely aligned with the NIST SP 800-171 recommendations, ensuring adequate protection of sensitive but not classified information.
  3. Level 3: This highest level is reserved for contractors dealing with highly sensitive CUI, like weapon test results or detailed manufacturing plans. Achieving compliance at this level involves substantial investment, reflecting the high stakes associated with the protected information.

CMMC and NIST SP 800-171: A Dual Focus

The evolving cybersecurity landscape for defense contractors necessitates a comprehensive understanding of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Special Publication 800-171 (NIST SP 800-171). While the CMMC is a relatively new regulation, it builds upon the foundational principles of NIST SP 800-171 and the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) 252.204-7012. NIST SP 800-171 is essential for protecting the confidentiality of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) in non-federal systems, and DFARS mandates defense contractors to implement these guidelines. The CMMC differs notably in its tiered certification model, demanding rigorous third-party assessments to verify compliance, a step beyond the self-attestation allowed under NIST SP 800-171. Currently CMMC proposed rule has been published for open comment.  Once this comment period is over, slight edits and changes will be made and the final rule will be published.  Once it is published the DoD will then decree it is adopting this rule and start injecting it into contracts. 

Our website, CMMCAudit.org, offers an extensive array of resources in navigating both CMMC and NIST SP 800-171 compliance. These resources provide in-depth insights into the implementation and integration of both standards, aiming to help contractors not just achieve compliance but also enhance their overall cybersecurity infrastructure. From detailed analyses of CMMC levels to practical guides on NIST SP 800-171 implementation, our materials are tailored to demystify complex regulations and promote a proactive cybersecurity posture. This dual-focused approach not only ensures adherence to regulatory demands but also fosters a stronger, more resilient cyber defense mechanism within the defense supply chain.

Tips to Prepare for CMMC

Preparing for the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) can be daunting, especially for contractors new to the process or those transitioning from the self-certification model. The first and most crucial step is to gain a thorough understanding of what data you possess, where it rests and flows.  Creating a Data Flow Map is a crucial step in define the scope of your environment.  Contractors should start by conducting a comprehensive assessment of their current cybersecurity practices against the CMMC standards. This involves identifying the type of Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) they handle and determining the corresponding level of CMMC certification required. It’s also vital to develop an internal roadmap for compliance, which includes training staff, updating or implementing new cybersecurity policies, and establishing a continuous monitoring process to ensure ongoing compliance. Regular internal audits and CMMC assessments can also help identify vulnerabilities and guide necessary improvements in cybersecurity practices.

For those seeking expert guidance, Kieri Solutions emerges as a highly recommended partner that is an authorized C3PAO and has passed its own CMMC level 2 certification from DIBCAC. Kieri consists of an elite group of some of the most experienced and credentialed CCA’s in the industry.  Many have been a part of the DIBCAC JSVA certification assessment process and understand what it will takes to achieve certification. This experience along with our set of custom documentation, enclave architecture, assessment services and consulting will give you the best chance for success Their do it yourself offerings in preparing for audits and certification is particularly beneficial for contractors aiming to navigate the complexities of CMMC smoothly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *